Institut Français

Institut Français

May 2009
Institut Français

Institut Français

May 2009

Institut Français

Address:
17 Queensberry Way, London SW7 2DT
Type:
Public
Completion:
1939
Viewed:
4381

Description of Institut Français

The Institut français du Royaume-Uni, originally known as the Université des Lettres françaises, opened in 1910, the initiative of a young French woman, Marie d'Orliac, eager to introduce the London public to well-known writers, thinkers and artists from France.

Over the next ten years, the Institut moved several times from its original premises at Marble Arch House (nr. Connaught Place), finally settling at nos 15 – 17 Queensberry Place, where a stunning new art deco building was commissioned from French architect Patrice Bonnet (1879-1964). The Institut's new home was inaugurated by President Albert Lebrun and HRH Princess Mary on 21 March 1939.

Inside, a sweeping staircase leads from the foyer area to the first floor, decorated by the famous Rodin statue L'Age d'Airain, and a tapestry by Sonia Delaunay. Situated immediately to the left of the staircase on the first floor is the Ciné lumière, refitted as a cinema and reopened in 1997 by Catherine Deneuve. A gallery on the first floor leads into the library's wood-panelled main reading room, converted from its original use as a ballroom in 1950 by the architect Jean-Charles Moreux (1889-1956). The library underwent further refurbishment in 1995, when architect Jean-François Darin was brought in to fit open-access shelving, a spiral staircase, and a curved glass wall overlooking the first floor gallery. The newly-refurbished building was inaugurated on 15 May 1996 by President Jacques Chirac.

Over the course of its hundred-year history, the Institut has welcomed a variety of distinguished visitors. They include: Jean-Louis Barrault, Madeleine Renaud, Jean Renoir, Abel Gance, Darius Milhaud, André Maurois, Jacques Lacan and Willy Ronis. General de Gaulle, who with the Free French Forces used part of the Institut as a base during WW2, made a return visit in 1960.

The Institut today comprises a bistro, cinema (formerly a theatre) and library, with offices and reception rooms spread between the interconnecting sites at nos 15 and 17 Queensberry Place. The building's distinctive red-brick exterior is decorated with columns incised with delicate lattice work and with brickwork and beige ceramic plaques depicting the graces of Minerva, the goddess of intelligence (wisdom, knowledge, courage and peace, symbolized by an owl, asp, cockerel and olive branch).

Venues for hire

Ideal for talks, seminars and conferences, the Petite Salle holds 70 people

Les Salons is suitable for lectures, talks and presentations. Dinners, parties and any small group event with a cultural focus are also possible. The room can accommodate up to 80 people (or 60 people seated), and may be divided into two if required.

An attractive wood panelled room with balcony, intricate parquet floor and plenty of natural light, La Médiathèque's distinctive art deco reading room would make an elegant and impressive setting for a lecture, reception or fork buffet. La Médiathèque can accommodate 80 people; due to library opening hours, the room is available after 7.30pm Tuesday to Saturday, Mondays and Sundays all day.

Le Foyer makes for a flexible and dramatic party space, easily accommodating over 300 guests. Availability according to cinema screening times.

Source: institut-francais.org.uk

Connected Companies

News: (0)

*DISCLAIMER! Information on this page is for guidance only and remains subject to change. Buildington does not sell or let this property. For more information about this property please register your interest on the original website or get in touch with the Connected Companies.

New London developments on Buildington - monthly update