Royal Mint Court comprises four office buildings and an adjacent residential block, all completed in 1989. The total net lettable area for the commercial accommodation is approximately 470,000 sq ft, around 700,000 sq ft gross.
This historic Grade II listed building offers an exciting blend of classical & contemporary finishes providing a unique corporate profile within a secure landscaped environment.
Landscaped Recreational Courtyard
Highly prestigious Interior and Reception
High Security within gated estate
Individually controlled Air conditioned office suites
The History of Royal Mint Court
The Cistercian Abbey of “St Mary De Grace” (sometimes referred to as Eastminster Abbey) occupied the site, from 1348 to 1539. In 1562, the site became the Royal Navy Victualling yard until 1784, when it became a tobacco warehouse.
In 1798, a committee of the Privy Council appointed by King George III decided that a new building was needed to house the “Royal Mint” which for over 500 years had been located within the “Tower of London”. Construction commenced in 1807.
The “Johnson Smirke” building was named after the two architects responsible for its inception. The first architect chosen was James Johnson. Unfortunately he died in 1807 and never saw his design realised. Sir Robert Smirke completed the works and went on to design the British Museum in 1823.
The Company of Moneyers led by the “Mint Master” - a post held at one point by Sir Isaac Newton - manufactured all coins of the realm. When decimalization was introduced in the early 1970's operations were transferred to new buildings in Wales. Minting ceased at Royal Mint Court in 1975.
From 1988 onwards the Johnson Smirke Building at No 4 Royal Mint Court was home to Barclays Bank Executive Board and following their re-location to Lombard Street in January 2000, the building was taken over by Landmark Plc and has been successfully run as a high quality serviced office centre ever since.