7 Charles Street
7 Charles Street is a residential building in Mayfair, London W1.
The grand Grade II Listed Edwardian Arts & Crafts style building was constructed in 1900-1901, and designed by architect F. M. Elgood.
The townhouse was originally the London home of the Lindsay family, the Earls of Crawford. James Lindsay (1847-1913), the 26th Earl, was a noted Parliamentarian and British astronomer.
After the Earl’s death, the property was occupied by his son Major Robert Hamilton Lindsay and his wife Mary, the daughter of Sir William Clarke, an Australian tycoon.
The house was transformed into a military hospital between 1914 and 1918, visited by King George V and Queen Mary, before being converted back into a house.
In 1926 Mary Lindsay moved to Australia and the Mayfair building was converted into six apartments.
In 2023, REDD completed the refurbishment and extension the duplex apartment on the lower ground and ground floor into a unique 3-bedroom property. The central courtyard was reinstated to provide outdoor space to the apartment and bring lots of natural light into the property.
In 2024, Beauchamp Estates sells a 3,270 sq ft three-bedroom duplex residence on the ground and lower-ground floor at 7 Charles Street to an American buyer for £11.5 million. The recently refurbished apartment includes the Earl’s original observatory garden.
Site & Location
Bird's eye view of 7 Charles Street building location (boundary approximate).
News from the companies
Nearby new developments
Information on this page is for guidance only and remains subject to change. Buildington does not sell or let this property. For more information about this property please register your interest on the original website or get in touch with the Connected Companies.